4 for top SAG spot

Election to succeed Daniels starts Oct. 12

HOLLYWOOD — Filing for SAG elections has closed, with board members Angeltompkins, Eugene Boggs, Melissa Gilbert and Valerie Harper seeking to succeed the retiring William Daniels as president.

Arleen Goman, who had taken out a petition for president, did not file by Friday’s deadline. Elections will begin Oct. 12 and close Oct. 31 with results announced Nov. 5.

Angeltompkins, who legally changed her name several years ago from Angel Tompkins, won nearly 10% of the vote in the 1999 election that saw Daniels defeat two-term incumbent Richard Masur, and has run for the presidency in every election since 1993; Boggs would be the first African-American to head the guild; Gilbert, who has received backing from Masur allies, has attacked Daniels repeatedly; Harper, who received the most votes of 74 candidates for the Hollywood board last year, has been endorsed by Daniels.

Amy Aquino, Kathleen Haigney and Kent McCord have filed to succeed F.J. O’Neill as treasurer, while Rene Aubrey, Elliott Gould and Kevin Kilner are up for recording secretary to succeed Karen Austin. SAG’s president, treasurer and recording secretary are the only offices elected on a national basis.

Hollywood filings include 11 candidates for four VP posts, with none of the incumbents seeking re-election, and 52 for 13 board seats. Due to last week’s terrorist attacks, New York filings were extended to Monday and will be announced later this week.

Mike Farrell and board member Anne-Marie Johnson have filed for the 1st VP slot as running mates for Gilbert and Harper, respectively. Current 1st VP Sumi Haru and Tom LaGrua, who headed SAG’s negotiating team at this year’s film-TV contract talks, are the candidates for 3rd VP.

Esai Morales and Jerry Sroka will run for 9th VP, while Michael Harrity, Tess Harper and Jerry G. Velasco will seek the 11th VP slot. Nashville-based member Cece Dubois will run unopposed for 8th VP.

Several candidates for the national and VP slots also filed for board seats, and the contests have attracted a variety of high-profile names along with incumbents Daryl Anderson and Richard Dreyfuss. The top 11 vote-getters will win three-year terms, and the next two will be given two-year slots.

The complete list of Hollywood board candidates: Robert Amico, Daryl Anderson, Angeltompkins, Karen Austin, Barbara Bosson, W. Earl Brown, Seymour Cassel, Barbara Cheeseborough, Cynthia Lea Clark, Bob Courts, Trista Delamere, Charley M. De la Pena, Richard Dreyfuss, Shelley Fabares, Mike Farrell, Gene Feldman, Leo D. Frank III, Gary Fredo, Leigh French, Lee Garlington, Kathleen Haigney, Sumi Haru, Richard Herd, David Jolliffe, Jason Kravits, Diane Ladd, Ed Lieberman, Russell McConnell, Kent McCord, Michael Monks, Esai Morales, F.J. O’Neill, Peter Onorati, Scott Pierce, Randy Rose, Vanna Salviati, Al Sapienza, Kipp Shiotani, Marshal Silverman, Jerry Sroka, Cynthia Steele, W.M. Supernaw, Yale Summers, James N. Talbott, Rene Taylor, Oliver Theess, J.T. Thibodeau, Jerry G. Velasco, Karl Warren, Angela Watson, Vivicca A. Whitsett and Millie Wright.

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Biz News from Variety