NATPE to honor Seinfeld with Chairman’s Award

Past recipients include Carson, Burnett, Spelling

Jerry Seinfeld will receive the NATPE Chairman’s Award, which is considered the association’s highest honor, at the 38th annual NATPE conference and exhib in Las Vegas in January.

The nod is given annually to an individual who has made an outstanding contribution to the TV industry, whether as onscreen talent or through behind-the-scenes contributions.

NATPE chairman Steve Mosko, prexy of Columbia TriStar TV Distrib., will hand over the kudos to Seinfeld during the NATPE 2001 Opening General Session on Jan. 22. The conference will run Jan. 22-25.

Past recipients of the award have included fellow comedians and TV personalities such as Lucille Ball, Johnny Carson, Carl Reiner, Carol Burnett, Milton Berle and Bob Hope. Rupert Murdoch, Norman Lear, Ron Howard and Aaron Spelling have also received the award. Sid Caesar was last year’s recipient.

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More TV News from Variety