Ex-NATAS prexy honored for his innovation

The American Film Institute will present producer-executive Dick Berg with the Charles W. Fries television producer of the year award on Oct. 23 at the CAA offices in Beverly Hills.

A two-time president of the National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences, Berg has worked on 45 longform TV productions for the broadcast networks and cablers.

His production company, Stoneage Prods., created miniseries such as “Wallenberg,” “Space,” “The Martian Chronicles,” “The Word” and “A Rumor of War.” His work for HBO and Showtime includes “White Miles,” “Pronto” and “Rated-H.”

The annual award honoring a producer for his innovation and creative contributions to the profession will be handed out by the AFI’s director and CEO Jean Picker Firstenberg and the event’s hosts, Ava and Chuck Fries, whose Fries Foundation created the Television Library at AFI.

Industry leaders such as Fay Kanin, Robert Ellis Miller, Sydney Pollack and Carol Serling will speak, and a film highlighting the honoree’s career will be shown.

Previous winners of the kudos include Dorothea Petrie, David Gerber, Stan Margulies, Suzanne de Passe, Frank von Zerneck, Marian Rees, Roger Gimbel, Edgar Sherick, Dan Curtis, Marcy Gross and Ann Weston.

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0