Society honors Schifrin

Ratner, Bain join artist's celebration

Composer Lalo Schifrin was honored with the Film Music Society’s career achievement award Friday night at the Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel.

Among those on hand to celebrate the Grammy-winning artist’s career in jazz, film and classical music were his “Rush Hour” director Brett Ratner, “Mission: Impossible” TV star Barbara Bain and fellow composers Elmer Bernstein, Jerry Goldsmith and Christopher Young.

Nearly 200 members of the film-music community attended; Frank Capp’s big band played several Schifrin hits, including “Bullitt,” “Cool Hand Luke,” and, of course, “Mission: Impossible” with the composer at the piano.

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Scene News from Variety