WGA fetes ‘Insider’ scribes

Mann, Roth win Paul Selvin Award

The Writers Guild of America has selected Eric Roth and Michael Mann as winners of this year’s Paul Selvin Award for their script “The Insider.”

Honor, to be presented at the 52nd annual Writers Guild Awards on March 5, is given to the writers whose script “best embodies the spirit of the constitutional and civil rights and liberties, which are indispensable to the survival of free writers everywhere.” Selvin served as counsel for the org for 25 years.

“Eric Roth and Michael Mann had the courage to tackle a difficult and complex story,” said John Wells, president of the Writers Guild of America West. “Their film is a stunning achievement, detailing the remarkable personal and professional costs of personal integrity. They have challenged all of us to question the true freedom of the press in this era of corporate ownership. It is an extraordinary film, done exceedingly well on an important subject.”

“The Insider” has received seven Academy Award nominations, including best picture, best adapted screenplay and best director. Mann and Roth have also been nominated for a WGA award.

Script is based on a Vanity Fair article, “The Man Who Knew Too Much,” about “60 Minutes” producer Lowell Bergman and tobacco industry whistleblower Jeffrey Wigand.

Roth previously received the Oscar and WGA award for his screenplay adaptation of “Forrest Gump.”

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Film News from Variety