Producers Guild gives 21-gun salute to nine

Wilder, Evans, Kennedy among honorees

The Producers Guild of America on Wednesday announced nine new members for its Hall of Fame.

Hall of Fame honors for film will be bestowed on Billy Wilder for “Some Like It Hot,” Robert Evans for “Chinatown” and Kathleen Kennedy and Steven Spielberg for “E.T. The Extra-Terrestrial.”

TV honorees

New Hall of Fame members for TV will be Marcy Carsey and Tom Werner for “The Cosby Show,” Quinn Martin and Alan Armer for “The Fugitive” and Jack Webb for “Dragnet.”

The org’s Hall of Fame designation is given to a producer whose film or television program is judged a “landmark production which has withstood the test of time.”

PGA prexy Thom Mount and executive director Vance Van Petten made the announcement of the inductees, who will be honored at tonight’s PGA Golden Laurel Awards at the Century Plaza Hotel in Los Angeles.

“The contribution these men and women have made to film and television is timeless,” Mount said. “The Producers Guild of America is delighted to honor these producers and the unforgettable television series and films they have brought to life.”

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Film News from Variety