Guggenheim honored with docu org award

Producer/director earned Oscars for four films

HOLLYWOOD — Four-time Academy Award winner Charles Guggenheim has been tapped to receive this year’s career achievement award from the Intl. Documentary Assn.

The honor will be presented Oct. 27 at the 16th annual IDA Distinguished Achievement Awards ceremony at the Los Angeles Center Studios.

Guggenheim won Oscars for “Nine From Little Rock” (1964), “RFK Remembered” (1969), “The Johnstown Flood” (1989) and “A Time for Justice” (1994). He has been nominated for 12 Academy awards.

“Charles Guggenheim has consistently directed and produced important films that have made an indelible impression on our society,” said IDA president David Haugland. “He is a talented filmmaker whose body of work provides unique insights into American culture. His stories will endure for future generations.”

Docu origins

Guggenheim broke into the business by working for a commercial producer in New York and launched his career as a filmmaker by making a documentary supporting a bond initiative. His first feature film was “The Great St. Louis Bank Robbery” in 1959.

Past winners of the IDA career achievement award include Michael Apted, Walter Cronkite, Jacques Cousteau, Fred Friendly, Henry Hampton, Albert Maysles, Bill Moyers, Sheila Nevins, Ted Turner and David Wolper.

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Film News from Variety