Producers Guild taps pix, series for honors

The producers of “American Beauty,” “Being John Malkovich,” “The Cider House Rules,” “The Hurricane” and “The Insider” made the short list for the Producers Guild of America Golden Laurel Award for the best films of 1999.

The awards ceremony will take place March 2 at the Century Plaza Hotel in Los Angeles. Nominees for the movie honor, named after Darryl F. Zanuck, include Bruce Cohen and Dan Jinks for “American Beauty”; Michael Stipe, Sandy Stern, Steve Golin and Vincent Landy for “Malkovich”; Richard N. Gladstein for “Cider House Rules”; Armyan Bernstein, John Ketcham and Norman Jewison for “Hurricane”; and Michael Mann and Jan Pieter Brugge for “Insider.”

Executive producer nominees for the Norman Felton Producer of the Year kudos for episodic television include Barbara Hall, Connie Tavel, Joseph Stern and Amy Brenneman for “Judging Amy”; Aaron Sorkin, Brian Grazer, Ron Howard, Tony Krantz, Thomas Schlamme and Rob Scheidlinger for “Sports Night”; John Wells, Sorkin and Schlamme for “The West Wing”; David Chase and Brad Grey for “The Sopranos”; and Dick Wolf and Robert Palm for “Law & Order: Special Victims Unit.”

Norman Felton Producer of the Year award nominees for non-episodic TV include Lionel Chapman, Richard Gerdau, Abbe Raven and Charlie Maday for “The Century: America’s Time”; Stan Margulies, Antony Root, Delia Fine, Scott Siegler, Jon Cowan and Robert Rovner for “Dash & Lilly”; Marilyn Lewis, Irwin Meyer and Steven Hewitt for “The Passion of Ayn Rand”; Steven Haft and Nick Lombardo for “Pirates of Silicon Valley”; and Oprah Winfrey and Kate Forte for “Tuesdays With Morrie.”

The org has 500 active members and 1,000 affiliated members.

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0