Gay org bestows media nods

GLAAD fetes 'Boys,' MTV, John

NEW YORK — MTV Networks, ABC’s “20/20” and Kimberly Peirce’s “Boys Don’t Cry” were among nine honorees at the New York edition of the 11th annual GLAAD Media Awards ceremony, held Sunday in Manhattan.

The Gay & Lesbian Alliance Against Defamation fetes individuals and media outlets who promote “fair, accurate and inclusive representations of the lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender community in the media.”

Elton John was honored with the Vito Russo Award and Marlo Thomas with the Excellence in Media Award, both of which recognize efforts to enhance visibility and understanding of the LGBT community.

Gray Lady gets nod

Other winners include Time Out, New York, for magazine coverage; the New York Times for newspaper coverage; and Lisa Kron’s one-person show “2.5 Minute Ride” and lounge act “Kiki & Herb: Have Another” for outstanding Off and Off-Off Broadway theater, respectively.

MTV’s “Sounds Like First Love” campaign won for advertising, “Boys Don’t Cry” for limited release film, and “20/20” (episode: “Billy Bean”) for TV jour-nalism.

Bebe Neuwirth, Hilary Swank, Julianne Moore, Willem Dafoe, Kyle MacLachlan, Parker Posey, Molly Shannon, Kevin Bacon and Kyra Sedgwick were among the event’s performers and presenters.

The next GLAAD Awards installment — honoring Anne Heche and Elizabeth Taylor — will be held April 15 in L.A., followed by a third ceremony in D.C. on May 13 and a fourth in San Francisco on June 3.

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Film News from Variety