Cameramen to honor Wise

Lightbill takes President's Award

The Society of Operating Cameramen has named Oscar-winning producer-director Robert Wise as its 2000 Governor’s Award recipient.

The SOC will present the honor Oct. 1 at its 12th annual Lifetime Achievement Awards banquet at the Ritz-Carlton in Marina del Rey, Calif.

“Robert Wise is a total filmmaker,” said society prexy Georgia Packard. “He has compiled an incomparable body of work as an editor, director and producer.”

Wise earned seven Oscar noms, and won as director and producer for “West Side Story” and “The Sound of Music.” His editing nominations include “Citizen Kane.”

The SOC President’s Award will go to cinematographer Stephen Lightbill, whose credits include “Seeing Red” and “Gimme Shelter.”

SOC also will present lifetime or “Cammy” awards to Kiu Barlia, film camera operator; Susan A. Campbell, video camera operator; Kenneth Nishino, assistant camera operator; Marcia A. Reed, still photographer; and Gaylin Schultz, platform operator.

In addition, the group will honor David M. Walsh for composing the chase scene in “Bullitt,” and will present technical awards to Eastman Kodak, and to Denny Clarimont and Kenneth Robings, co-inventors of the Swing Shift Lens Set.

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Film News from Variety