Video event to fete trio

Proceeds from event to benefit several charities

Ivan Reitman, Russ Solomon and Paul Culberg will be honored at the 20th annual Video Hall of Fame, to be held Monday at the Beverly Hilton Hotel.

DreamWorks’ Jeffrey Katzenberg will induct producer-director Reitman; Bud O’Shea will induct Solomon, a pioneering vid retailer who founded Tower Records/Video; and Jonathan Zimbert will induct Culberg, the exec VP of VM Labs and chief operating officer of its Nuon group.

Rita Rudner will host the event.

Founded by Video Business (sister publication of Daily Variety) in 1981, the Video Hall of Fame has raised more than $2.5 million for children’s charities.

Proceeds from the evening will benefit Variety: the Children’s Charity; the Samara Jan Turkel Foundation, which was established in the memory of Video Hall of Fame co-founder Arthur Bach’s granddaughter and is dedicated to finding a cure for auto-immune disease; and Fast Forward to End Childhood Hunger (a joint venture of Jeff Bridges’ End Hunger Network and the Video Software Dealers Assn.).

During the dinner, a silent auction will be held to benefit Fast Forward, which in four years has raised more than $5 million.

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Digital News from Variety