WGA singles out Marcus for guild service award

Scribe devoted to improving conditions for all writers, Wells sez

TV scribe Ann Marcus (“Lassie”) was named Tuesday as a new recipient of the Morgan Cox Award, the Writers Guild of America’s annual honor for exemplary service to the Guild.

Currently serving a sixth term as a WGA, west board member, Marcus will pick up her nod at the 52nd WGA awards March 5 at the Beverly Hilton Hotel.

“Not only is Ann Marcus one of the finest writers in television,” said WGA, west prexy John Wells, “but she has devoted her time and energy to improving the conditions for all writers.”

A Guild member since 1961, Marcus served as secretary-treasurer from 1991-1993 and has been active in the WGA’s freedom-of-expression, blacklisted-writers and age-discrimination committees.

Her writing credits, in addition to “Lassie,” include penning recently the book “Whistling Girl: A Memoir” and writing for the series “Please Don’t Eat the Daisies,” “The Hathaways,” “Gentle Ben” and “Peyton Place.” She has also worked as head writer on sudsers “Days of Our Lives,” “Love of Life” and “General Hospital.”

Past winners of the Morgan Cox award include Alfred L. and Helen Levitt, Melville Shavelson and Irma Kalish. The award is named for Morgan B. Cox, who devoted much of his professional life to the WGA and helped ensure that TV writers are included under the guild’s jurisdiction.

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More TV News from Variety