Deadline is Sept. 15

The Writers Guild of America is accepting submissions for its Television-Radio Writers Awards, which will be presented March 5.

To be eligible for entry, scripts must have been produced under WGA jurisdiction and broadcast for the first time between Sept. 1, 1998, and today. Writers may submit no more than one script in any individual category.

Awards are given to writers in a variety of TV and radio categories, as well as in the areas of on-air promotion writing and graphic design.


Television categories are: long form/original and long form/adaptation; episodic drama; episodic comedy; comedy/variety series, including talkshows; comedy/variety specials, including music, award shows and tributes; documentaries/current events; documentaries/noncurrent events; news/regularly scheduled, bulletin or breaking reports; news/analysis, feature or commentary; daytime serial; and children’s shows.

Radio categories are: documentaries; news/regularly scheduled, bulletin or breaking reports; and news/analysis, feature or commentary.

Selvin Award

The WGA is also accepting submissions for the Paul Selvin Award, presented to a member whose script best embodies the spirit of “constitutional and civil rights,” according to the guild. Both motion picture and television scripts are eligible for the award.

Scripts must be received no later than 5:30 p.m. on Sept. 15. They should be sent to Barbara Ditlow, WGA West, 7000 W. Third St., Los Angeles CA 90048, or Giselle Miller, WGA East, 555 W. 57th St., New York NY 10019.

Winners will be announced at the 52nd annual Writers Guild Awards, which will be held at the Beverly Hilton in Beverly Hills and simultaneously at the Plaza Hotel in New York.

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0