NARAS names lifetime honorees

Belafonte, Nelson, Guthrie, Hooker receive nods

Singers Harry Belafonte, Willie Nelson, Woody Guthrie and John Lee Hooker were named Lifetime Achievement Award winners of the National Academy of Recording Arts & Sciences.

Industry execs Clive Davis, Mitch Miller and Phil Spector were named recipients of the Trustee Awards of the Academy.

“This year’s winners represent outstanding individuals who exemplify the high creative standards set by the Academy,” said Academy prexy and CEO Michael Greene. “Their dedication, tenacity and vision have inspired us all to reach higher in both our personal and professional endeavors.”

Lifetime Achievement recipients have included Frank Sinatra, Bob Dylan, Jimi Hendrix, Louis Armstrong, Henry Mancini and Elvis Presley. Previous Trustee Award honorees have included Herb Alpert, Dick Clark and George and Ira Gershwin.

Winners will be feted during the 42nd annual Grammy Awards in February.

Filed Under:

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Music News from Variety