Five scribes to recieve $25,000 fellowships

Ten finalists have been chosen for this year’s Academy of Motion Picture Arts & Sciences’ Don and Gee Nicholl Screenwriting Fellowship.

Nominees are: Chris E. Balibrera (“Harvest”), Quentin B. Cline (“Shepherds of War”), Thomas J. Lynch (“The Beginning of Wisdom”), Phyllis E. MacBryde (“Zinzi”), Denise P. Meyer (“Heir Apparent”), Annmarie E. Morais (“Bleeding”), Jaime D. Silverman (“Last Meals”), Rebecca A. Sonnenshine (“Mermaid Dreams”), Ian M. Southwood (“Destiny”) and Christine R. Sugiyama (“Kozakana-Little Fish”).

As many as five scribes will be presented with $25,000 fellowships this November.

Industry review

Scripts are judged by the Nicholl Committee, comprising writers, producers, directors, editors, cinematographers and actors.

Competish is open to scribes who have not sold or optioned a screenplay or teleplay for more than $5,000 or received a prize with a first-look clause.

Chosen scripts must be expanded to feature length within one year of receiving a fellowship.

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0