Movie masetros line up for film music awards

Morricone, Shankar accept honorary Prizes

BONN, Germany — A host of international film music maestros descended on Bonn Saturday night for the third Intl. Prize for Film and Media Music, part of the city’s biannual film music event.

Italian composer Ennio Morricone, whose credits include the scores for Oliver Stone’s “U-Turn” and Wolfgang Petersen’s “In the Line of Fire,” accepted the Honorary Erich Wolfgang Korngold Prize 1999. India’s Ravi Shankar took the honorary Intl. Prize for Film and Media Music but had to cancel plans to accept in person at the last minute.

Award winners

The jury, which included British composer Michael Nyman, Indian director Mani Kaul and Argentina’s Fernando Solanos, awarded the Intl. Feature Film Prize from a short list of 16 titles.

It was shared by Nelle Karajilic, Vogislav Aralica and Dejan Sparavalo for the music to Emir Kusturica’s “Black Cat, White Cat,” and to Michael Lorenc for Polish entry “Nothing,” directed by Dorota Kedzierzawaska.

A special mention went to Wasis Diop for the music to Djibril Diop Mambety’s “La Petite Vendeuse de Soleil.”

D’Hondt has ‘Ball’

Under the auspices of Oscar winning composer Hans Zimmer (“Rainman,” “The Lion King”), Vincent D’Hondt was awarded the European Newcomer’s Prize for the score to “The Ball.” Pic opened the children’s section of the Berlin Intl. Film Fest this year. The other newcomer prize, supported by the GEMA Foundation, went to Germany’s Oliver Heise for the music to the French/German co-production “Die Liebe, Mein Schatz, Ist Bodenlos.”

Hit German pic “Run Lola Run” was awarded a prize for the best soundtrack by the German Phono Akademie.

Filed Under:

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Film News from Variety