Riker lauded for helming bow

NEW YORK — The Independent Feature Project has given the second annual Perry Ellis Breakthrough awards to Broadway vets Dylan Baker and Janet McTeer for their performances, respectively, in Good Machine’s “Happiness,” directed by Todd Solondz, and the upcoming Fine Line release “Tumbleweeds,” directed by Gavin O’Connor.

In addition, the IFP has given the Gotham Open Palm award for an outstanding directing debut to David Riker for “La Ciudad” (The City), which is slated for an October release from Zeitgeist Films. The prize includes a film package of goods and services that exceeds $60,000.

Last year’s Breakthrough awards went to Saul Williams and Sonja Sohn for their performances in “Slam.” Past winners of the Open Palm include Darren Aronofsky (1998’s “Pi”), Rose Troche (1994’s “Go Fish”) and Jennie Livingston (1991’s “Paris Is Burning”).

The IFP’s Gotham awards will be held Sept. 22 at the Chelsea Piers during the Independent Feature Film Market , which runs Sept. 17-24.

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0