Burrows, Hayek also to star in Figgis' pic

Oscar winning actress Holly Hunter has joined the cast of Mike Figgis’ “Time Code 2000” for Columbia.

Produced through Figgis’ Sony-based Red Mullet banner, the L.A.-set thriller will be digitally shot and largely improvised by the ensemble cast (Daily Variety, Oct. 15).

Hunter joins Saffron Burrows, Salma Hayek, Stellan Skarsgard, Jeanne Tripplehorn, Kyle MacLachlan, Leslie Mann, Julian Sands and Steven Weber.

Hunter won an Academy Award for her work in Jane Campion’s “The Piano,” and was also nominated for her supporting perf in “The Firm” that same year. The actress had previously been nominated for 1987’s “Broadcast News.” Hunter last appeared onscreen in New Line’s “Living Out Loud.” She is repped by ICM and 3 Arts Entertainment’s Erwin Stoff.

Figgis directed 1995’s “Leaving Las Vegas,” which earned co-star Nicolas Cage a best actor Oscar, and this year’s “The Loss of Sexual Innocence.”

Figgis’ bigscreen adaptation of August Strindberg’s “Miss Julie” will be released next month by MGM.

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0