Fest fetes U.S., France

'Century,' 'Mother' get best feature nods at Avignon

The 21st Century Filmmaker Awards were handed out at the closing ceremonies of the Avignon/New York Film Festival held at the French Institute/Alliance on Sunday, May 2.

The 10-day festival, which premiered 22 independent features and 22 shorts, concluded with awards for best American and French features, as well as best American and French shorts.

“Man of the Century,” by first-time helmer Adam Abraham, reeled in the best American feature award, while Georgia Irwin’s “Making Change” won the best American short prize.

The best French feature winner was “The Sky, The Birds, Your Mother!” by Djamel Bensalah; “No One Before You,” directed by Oliver Lecot, took home the nod for best French short.

Elia Lyssy received the 1999 Kodak vision award, a special jury prize, for outstanding cinematography in the American feature “The Money Shot.” The Separate Star screenplay award was given to Elizabeth Holder for the short “Weekend Getaway.”

Sponsors for the festival included Eastman Kodak, Delta Air Lines, Tribeca Film Center, Abel Cine Tech, LVT Subtitling, Cineric, Oculus, PrimeTime Post and Final Draft.

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Film News from Variety