You will be redirected back to your article in seconds

Acad re-elects prez Rehme

Producer to serve 3rd time

Producer Robert Rehme has been re-elected for a third consecutive term as president of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts & Sciences.

Rehme, re-elected Aug. 19, represents the Academy’s executive branch on the board of governors. He also served in the office for one term in 1992-93.

Former Academy vice president Alan Bergman, a music branch governor, was moved up to first vice president, and actors branch governor Kathy Bates was elected a vice president.

It is the first time on the board for Bates, who won an Academy Award for best actress in “Misery” (1990) and was nominated for a supporting role in “Primary Colors” (1998).

Public relations branch governor Sid Ganis also was elected a vice president. He had previously served as first VP for the maximum four consecutive terms.

Film editors branch governor Donn Cambern was elected treasurer of the Academy. Cambern has served eight terms in various officer capacities, including one term as first VP.

Sound branch governor Donald C. Rogers was re-elected secretary, a position he has occupied seven times. He has also served twice as a vice president.

“The Academy is moving quickly into many new areas,” Rehme said, “so it’s a very exciting period in our history and I’m delighted to be back in the midst of it.”

Rehme previously served one term as treasurer and four as a vice president. He also has served four terms as president of the Academy Foundation and chaired the Awards Rules Committee and the Endowment Campaign Committee; the latter raised an endowment for the Center for Motion Picture Study that stands at $31 million.

Academy officers serve one-year terms, with a maximum of four consecutive terms in any one office.

More Film

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content