Deadlines key point in Oscar literature

This week, the 5,570 voting members of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts & Sciences should be receiving a 30-page booklet spelling out the rules for the upcoming Academy Awards.

Possibly the most important aspect of the rules is the timetable for submitting entries. For instance:

  • The deadline for entry forms in the documentary categories is Oct. 1, while film prints and proof of qualifying exhibition must be received by Nov. 1. The last date for a documentary film to screen in order to qualify is Oct. 31;

  • In the foreign-language category, the deadline for receiving entry forms and supporting documents is Nov. 1. Prints must be received at the Academy by Nov. 15. To qualify, films must have screened by Oct. 31 in the country of submission;

  • Entry form deadline in the short-film categories is Nov. 1, and the deadline for receiving film prints and proof of qualifying exhibition is Nov. 30, which is also the date by which films must have screened to qualify;

  • In the music categories, submissions must be made no later than 60 days after the qualifying Los Angeles release opening, or Dec. 1, whichever comes first;

  • In other categories, the deadline for submission of official screen-credits forms to the Academy is 60 days after the qualifying L.A. release opening, or Dec. 1, whichever comes first. This form must be filed in order for a feature film to be considered for the 72nd Academy Awards.

The complete rules booklet is available on the Academy’s Web site, www.oscars.org.

Nominations will be announced at 5:30 a.m. PT (8:30 a.m. ET) on Feb. 15 at the Academy. Oscars will be presented on March 26 at the Los Angeles Shrine Auditorium, with ABC’s television broadcast beginning at 5 p.m. PT (8 p.m. ET).

Follow @Variety on Twitter for breaking news, reviews and more