Norman Lear king of TV hall monitors

He's chairman of ATAS's Hall of Fame Selection Committee

Norman Lear has been appointed chairman of the Academy of Television Arts & Sciences’ Hall of Fame Selection Committee, the body that makes the final decision on installations to the ATAS Hall of Fame.

Lear, who created and produced such TV series classics as “All in the Family,” “The Jeffersons” and “Sanford & Son,” becomes the third chairman of the committee that was founded in 1984. Former ATAS prexy John H. Mitchell was the first. He was later succeeded by producer Edgar Scherick.

Over the past 23 years, more than 70 TV industry executives, producers and performers have been inducted to the Hall. Lear inducted in 1984.

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More TV News from Variety