Tyro scribes honored

Three receive awards; 109 scripts were entered in contest

Winners of the 11th annual Diane Thomas Screenwriting Awards, presented by the UCLA Extension Writers’ Program and sponsored by DreamWorks and producer Cathleen Summers, were announced Wednesday evening.

Oscar-winning scribe Ron Bass was the key speaker at a Century Plaza Hotel awards reception.

Carol Barbee took the top prize for her “Madonnas of the Field”; second place went to Anne Winter for “Sometime Later”; the third place winner was Vincent E. Ware for “Keep It Real.” The three received awards of $5,000, $3,000 and $1,000, respectively.

The awards, which acknowledge superior achievement in screenwriting, are given in memory of Thomas, author of “Romancing the Stone,” who attended Writers’ Program classes early in her career.

The 23-member selection committee included Steven Spielberg, Michael Douglas, Kathleen Kennedy, Cathleen Summer, Norman Kurland and Deborah Newmyer, as well as program instructors and staff.

This year, 109 scripts were submitted, of which 10 finalists were selected. The finalists were paired with professional writer-mentors who guided them through the rewriting process.

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Film News from Variety