Script award finalists revealed

Five of 11 could receive top prize of $25K

Eleven finalists have been selected for the 1998 Don and Gee Nicholl Screenwriting Fellowship competition, sponsored by the Academy of Motion Picture Arts & Sciences and the Academy Foundation. As many as five writers will ultimately receive the $25,000 fellowship award.

The finalists are Jacob A. Estes, of Los Angeles, for his script “Mean Creek”; George H. Finch, Toronto, “The Living and the Dead”; David F. Goldsmith, Southport, Conn., “Going for the Gold”; Robert H. Gyde, Brooklyn, N.Y., “Jelly Babies”; Todd Ludy, L.A., “Resurrection”; Donna McNeely, L.A., “Julia’s Child”; Karen M. Moncrieff, L.A., “Blue Car”; Annmarie E. Morais, Toronto, “Bleeding”; Michael A. Rich, Beaverton, Ore., “Finding Forrester”; Miranda Seymour, L.A., “The Little Prince”; and Thomas P. Tytar, Trufant, Mich., “Garden Green.”

Final judging of the scripts will be undertaken by the Nicholl Committee, chaired by producer Gale Anne Hurd and comprised of writers John Gay, Hal Kanter, Daniel Petrie Jr., Frank Pierson, Tom Rickman and Daniel Taradash; cinematographer John Bailey; editor Mia Goldman; actress Eva Marie Saint; producer Peter Samuelson; director Robert E. Wise; and agent Michael Zimring.

The screenwriters they select will be announced in October and honored at a gala dinner in Beverly Hills in November.

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Film News from Variety