AMPAS opens envelope for chairs

Org names 37 standing committee toppers

Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences President Robert Rehme has announced the chairs of the 37 standing committees who will serve during the 1998-99 fiscal year.

Rehme stated that he “tried to find people who are very connected with the committee work they do. A good example would be Karl Malden as chair of the Actors Branch, the largest branch of the Academy. He’s a former president, an actor, and he’s got a deep understanding of the work we do.

“Now if you look at Saul Zaentz on the Rules committee, I thought long and hard about choosing Saul, because this is a very complicated job and there’s some very complex changes coming next year. I thought Saul as an Oscar-winning producer has an understanding of the entire filmmaking process, and the rules touch on all of those areas.

“What it comes down to is the staff implements the programs, but the Academy really runs these committees.”

The chairs and their committees:

Karl Madden, Actors Branch Executive;

Marvin March, Art Directors Branch Executive;

Marvin Levy, Awards Review, 71st Awards Public Relations Coordinating;

Saul Zaentz, Awards Rules;

Arthur Hiller, Center for Motion Picture Study Oversight;

Haskell Wexler, Cinematographers Branch Executive;

Albert Wolsky, Costume Design Award Rules;

Robert Wise, Directors Branch Executive;

Walter Shenson, Documentary Awards Executive;

Roger L. Mayer, Executives Branch Executive;

Donn Cambern, Film Editors Branch Executive;

Roddy McDowall, Finance;

Roger L. Mayer, Investment Subcommittee;

Nina Foch, Foreign Language Film Award;

Sid Ganis, General Membership, Governors Ball, Public Relations Branch Executive;

Martha Lutrell, Subcommittee on Agents

Jennifer Shull, Subcommittee on Casting Directors

David Ellis, Subcommittee on Stunt Coordinators

Delbert Mann, Grants;

Charles Schneer, London Screening;

Leonard Engelman, Makeup Award Rules;

David Chasman, Membership Screening ;

Bruce Broughton, Music Branch Executive;

Arthur Manson, New York Events;

Gale Anne Hurd, Nicholl Endowment;

Richard D. Zanuck, Producers Branch Executive;

Edmund DiGiulio, Scientific and Technical Awards;

Carl Bell, Short Films Branch Executive;

Donald C. Rogers, Sound Branch Executive;

Don Hall, Sound Effects Editing Award Rules;

Fay Kanin, Student Academy Awards;

David Gray, Theater Standards;

Richard Edlund, Visual Effects Branch Executive;

Daniel Petrie Jr., Writers Branch Executive.

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Film News from Variety