ATAS announces Governors winners

Projects and programs on ABC, HBO and PBS were announced Tuesday as winners of 1997 Governors Emmy Awards from the Board of Governors of the Academy of Television Arts & Sciences, which will be presented Sept. 7 during the nontelevised portion of the “49th Annual Primetime Emmy Awards.”

It marks the first time that ATAS has voted three such awards in a single year.

The Governors honors will go to ABC’s March of Dimes campaign that presented more than 400 network PSAs and special programs on the dangers of substance abuse during March; to HBO’s seven “Comic Relief” specials that have raised more than $40 million for homeless projects since 1987; and to Jack Venza, exec producer of PBS’ 24-year-old “Great Performances” series.

It was in 1995 that the ATAS Board of Governors voted to restructure the Governors Award criteria by “de-emphasizing individual achievements and emphasizing achievements of current distinction.”

Last year, the Governors Award went to USA Network’s “Erase the Hate” campaign and to Ted Turner’s ongoing Native American project.

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More TV News from Variety