Agoglia enters ATAS race

John Agoglia, who announced June 17 that he was stepping down as president of NBC Enterprises after 18 years at the web, has tossed his hat into the ring as a candidate to replace outgoing Academy of Television Arts & Sciences prexy Richard Frank at an officers election skedded for Aug. 19.

Agoglia, currently a member of the ATAS executive committee, will oppose Meryl C. Marshall, who serves as academy treasurer.

“I’m very close to the academy after being a member for 18 years,” Agoglia said Wednesday.

“I find myself with a little more time to devote to this now than I did a few months ago. And with the TV industry at a crossroads, this position would allow me to help keep up with the fast changes of the business and at the same time service the needs of academy members.”

Seven other petition candidates will compete for ATAS officer posts against the previously announced nominating committee slate as follows:

Perry Finnerman (a governor in the cinematographers branch), and Mark Glamasck (a governor in animation) are candidates for ATAS VP opposing current academy secretary Nancy Bradley Wiard.

John Nachreiner (a former governor in the electronic production branch) and George A. Sunga (an ATAS governor in the producers branch) are candidates for second VP opposing Vince Gutierrez (a former governor in the sound editing branch).

Alfred E. Lehman (a governor in the costume designer/supervisor branch) is a candidate for secretary. He opposes Sheila Manning (currently serving as a member of the ATAS executive committee and a governor in the commercials branch).

Lee Miller (a governor in the directors/choreographers branch) and Susan A. Simons (a member of the ATAS executive committee) are candidates for treasurer. They oppose Patricia van Ryker, an exec committee member and a governor in the art directors/set decorators branch.

TV Academy bylaws allow any qualified ATAS member to petition to run for any office with the approving signature of three members of the ATAS board of governors, which includes officers and executive committee members. The deadline to submit petitions was July 3.

Current prexy Frank, having served the limit of two consecutive two-year terms set by academy by-laws, is not eligible to run again. Frank had an initial two-year term as ATAS prez from 1985-87.

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More TV News from Variety