You will be redirected back to your article in seconds

Peacock tops sports Emmy noms

NBC scored more than double the nods of any competitor in the 18th annual Sports Emmy Awards nominations announced Wednesday by the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences.

NBC led with a record 41 nominations, followed by 18 for ESPN and 11 for Fox. Trailing the top three were ABC with 10 noms, TNT with seven and CBS with six acknowledgments.

Sports broadcaster Frank Gifford will receive the Lifetime Achievement Award at the NATAS ceremony at the Marriott Marquis Hotel in New York on April 23.

In the major category of outstanding live sports special, Fox was nominated for its coverage of the 1996 World Series and the NFC Championship game; NBC for its AFC Championship game and the American League Championship Series; and CBS for the Masters golf tournament.

For live sports series, the nominations went to NBC’s “Golf Tour”; ABC’s “Monday Night Football” and the Professional Bowlers Tour; Fox for “Fox NFL Sunday” and “NHL on Fox”; and ESPN for “Speedworld.”

In the live event turnaround category, the nods went to NBC’s Centennial Olympic Game and Wimbledon; ESPN’s Tour de France and “Home Run Derby”; and ABC’s Tour de France.

Edited sports special noms went to TBS’ “100 Years of Olympic Glory”; NBC’s Ironman Triathlon World Championship and “Sports Illustrated Olympic Special: A Prelude to the Games”; TNT’s “Football America”; and ABC’s “Wide World of Sports 35th Anniversary Special.”

In the Outstanding Sports Series/Anthologies category, the nominations went to Fox’s “In The Zone”; NFL Films’ syndicated “NFL Films Presents”; HBO’s “Real Sports with Bryant Gumbel”; American Adventure Production’s “Adventure Quest”; and NBC’s “NBA Inside Stuff.”

The Outstanding Sports Personality/Studio Host noms went to NBC’s Greg Gumbel, Jim Lampley and Bob Costas as well as ESPN’s Dan Patrick and Keith Olbermann.

In the Personality Play-By-Play category, the nods went to ABC’s Keith Jackson and Fox’s Pat Summerall as well as NBC’s Bob Costas, Dick Enberg and Marv Albert.

The Personality analyst or commentary noms were given to ESPN/NBC’s Joe Morgan; CBS’s Mary Carillo; Fox’s Howie Long; HBO/NBC’s Cris Collinsworth; and NBC’s Johnny Miller.

More Scene

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content