Mann gets DGA Aldrich nod

Delbert Mann, the Oscar-winning director and former president of the Directors Guild of America, will receive the DGA’s Robert B. Aldrich Award, given for exceptional service to the guild and its members.

Mann served as president of the guild from 1967-71. He currently is on the board of directors of the DGA Educational & Benevolent Foundation, as well as the DGA-Producer Pension and Health Plans.

Mann won the Oscar and the DGA award for the 1955 film “Marty,” and a Golden Globe for the best film for television for “All Quiet on the Western Front.”

Past recipients of the award include Daniel Petrie, Max A. Schindler, Burt Bluestein and Gene Reynolds.

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Scene News from Variety