DGA gives Kubrick D.W. Griffith Award

The Directors Guild of America will give its D.W. Griffith Award to legendary helmer Stanley Kubrick.

The reclusive director will not attend the DGA Awards on March 8, but plans to send a film or video clip for his acceptance, said DGA president Gene Reynolds.

Reynolds did not talk to Kubrick — the director was shooting Warner Bros.’ “Eyes Wide Shut” — but talked to an associate who said the helmer was “very excited, very pleased.”

In announcing the award, Reynolds cited Kubrick’s “unique, audacious, highly inventive and visual style.”

Kubrick’s credits include “The Killing,” “Paths of Glory,” “Spartacus,” “Lolita,” “2001: A Space Odyssey,” “Dr. Strangelove,” “A Clockwork Orange,” “Barry Lyndon,” “The Shining” and “Full Metal Jacket.”

“He hasn’t made a lot of films but he has made a number of great films,” Reynolds said. “The weight is on the quality of work rather than the quantity.”

Past recipients include Orson Welles, David Lean, John Ford, Elia Kazan, Alfred Hitchcock, Akira Kurosawa and last year’s recipient, Woody Allen.

A committee that includes Reynolds and past presidents chose Kubrick for the honor.

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Scene News from Variety