AFI to honor McTiernan

Die Hard” helmer John McTiernan will receive the American Film Institute’s 1997 Franklin J. Schaffner Alumni Award at the org’s 25th Lifetime Achievement Award tribute to Martin Scorsese Thursday.

The annually given award recognizes the achievement of a graduate of AFI’s Center for Advanced Film and TV studies or its Directing Workshop for Women. Previous recipients were David Lynch, Ed Zwick, Randa Haines, Martin Brest, Jon Avnet and Carl Franklin.

In making the announcement, AFI director and CEO Jean Firstenberg called McTiernan “a remarkable director whose work is respected by both his peers and his audiences,” and noted that his pics, which include “Die Hard With a Vengeance,” “Predator,” “The Hunt for Red October” and “Medicine Man,” “set the standard for the action-adventure genre.”

McTiernan graduated from the AFI program in 1975.

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Scene News from Variety