NARAS names honorees

Bo Diddley, Paul Robeson, the Mills Bros. and Roy Orbison have been named recipients of the Lifetime Achievement Award from the National Assn. of Recording Arts & Sciences.

BMI chief Frances Preston and legendary songwriting team of Edward Holland, Lamont Dozier and Brian Holland will receive the acad’s Trustees Award, a nod that is given to non-performers.

The awards, which recognize lifelong artistic contributions to the recording medium, will be handed out in February during ceremonies as part of Grammy Week in New York.

“There are few activities of the Recording Academy which give me more pleasure than honoring the work and careers of great music pioneers,” said NARAS prexy/CEO Michael Greene. “This year’s winners are outstanding individuals who, through their dedication, tenacity and talented vision have inspired us all to reach higher in both our personal and professional endeavors.”

Previous lifetime achievement winners include Louis Armstrong, Chuck Berry, Henry Mancini, Frank Sinatra and Sir Georg Solti.

The Grammy Awards will be held Feb. 25, 1998, at Radio City Music Hall in New York. Nominations for the awards will be announced Jan. 6.

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0


    Leave a Reply

    No Comments

    Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

    Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

    You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

    Twitter picture

    You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

    Facebook photo

    You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

    Google+ photo

    You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

    Connecting to %s

    More Music News from Variety