Tex crix sweet on ‘Hereafter’

HOUSTON — Deep in the heart of Texas, they’re wild about “The Sweet Hereafter.”

The Society of Texas Film Critics has named Atom Egoyan’s haunting drama as best picture of 1997. The organization also honored Egoyan as best director.

Other winners selected by participating Texas film critics include Robert Duvall of “The Apostle” for best actor; Helena Bonham Carter of “The Wings of the Dove” for best actress; Kevin Spacey of “L.A. Confidential” and “Midnight in Garden of Good and Evil” as best supporting actor; and Joan Cusack of “In & Out” as best supporting actress.

Neil LaBute received the STFC’s best original screenplay accolade for “In the Company of Men,” while Brain Helgeland and Curtis Hanson nabbed the best adapted screenplay prize for “L.A. Confidential.” “Shall We Dance?” earned the best foreign language film prize, and “Fast, Cheap and Out of Control” was voted best documentary.

Runners-up in the final round of STFC voting include “Titanic” for best picture; Peter Fonda of “Ulee’s Gold” for best actor; Judi Dench of “Mrs. Brown” for best actress; Burt Reynolds of “Boogie Nights” for best supporting actor; Kim Basinger of “L.A. Confidential” for best supporting actress; James Cameron of “Titanic” for best director; “As Good as It Gets” for best original screenplay; “The Sweet Hereafter” for best adapted screenplay; “Waco: The Rules of Engagement” for best documentary; and “Ponette” for best foreign language film.

Previous STFC grand prize winners include “Pulp Fiction,” “The Usual Suspects” and “Fargo.”

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Film News from Variety