ShoWester to fete Loeks

Loews Theatres co-chairman Barrie Lawson Loeks will become the first woman ever to receive the Robert W. Selig ShoWester of the Year award, at the four-day exhibition convention which takes place March 3-6 in Las Vegas.

Loeks and her husband, Jim Loeks, took over the reins at Loews — the nation’s oldest and ninth-largest circuit — in 1992. The pair also head up the Loeks-Star Theatres Michigan, which they founded in 1988.

“Barrie Lawson Loeks has been extremely active in guiding the future of exhibition,” said ShoWest president Daniel Wheatcrost in announcing the award. “The decision of the committee was unanimous.”

Previous recipients of the ShoWester honor have included Cinemark’s Lee Roy Mitchell and AMC’s Stanley H. Durwood.

Also receiving kudos at the confab will be Ann L. Craft of the Theater Owners of Indiana, winner of the Ida Schreiber Award; and J. Wayne Anderson, president of company operations for Maryland-based R.C. Theaters, winner of the B.V. Sturdivant Award.

Wheatcrost announced that, in a break with tradition, the ShoWester award, as well as the convention’s keynote speech, will be presented on ShoWest’s opening Monday night instead of Tuesday morning.

He also announced that the convention, known for the last few years as NATO/ShoWest, will return to its original moniker of ShoWest.

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Film News from Variety