PGA noms go to ‘Fargo,’ ‘Flynt’ ‘Shine,’ ‘Patient’ and ‘Hamlet’

Producers of “The English Patient,” “Fargo,” “Hamlet,” “The People vs. Larry Flynt” and “Shine” picked up nominations Wednesday for the Producers Guild of America Awards.

Although still new compared to the Oscars and other guild awards, the PGA has in the past had similar voting patterns to the Academy Awards, although last year’s winner was “Apollo 13” while the Oscar for best picture went to “Braveheart.”

The PGA’s Golden Laurel Awards, as they are called, will be held at the Universal City Hilton & Towers on March 12.

Nominated for the Producer of the Year Award – officially named for Darryl F. Zanuck – were Ethan Coen for “Fargo,” David Barron for “Hamlet,” Oliver Stone, Janet Yang and Michael Hausman for “The People vs. Larry Flynt,” Saul Zaentz for “The English Patient” and Jane Scott for “Shine.”

“English Patient,” “Shine” and “Fargo” each earned nominations for their directors in the DGA nominations announced Tuesday.

“I’m proud and very honored to be recognized,” Stone said. “I really had wished that it had made more at the box office.” He added that he also was sorry that Milos Forman did not get a DGA nomination for the movie.

Jane Scott, who had just returned to Australia following Sunday’s Golden Globe ceremonies, said that the nomination was “a great honor.”

“We often watch as actors and directors are honored,” she said. “We sort of hide behind our companies’ names and those sorts of things, so it is strange when we are pushed before the lights. But it is really quite an extraordinary experience with the attention that ‘Shine’ is getting.”

Although a guild, the PGA is not recognized in collective bargaining, meaning that the org cannot negotiate contracts for producers. But the org has been in an ongoing battle to limit the use of the producers credit by setting up an arbitration panel.

The producer nods were selected by a committee of peers in the theatrical motion picture industry. Ballots go to all members of the guild.

Still to be announced are nominations for producer of the year in television, as well as lifetime achievement awards in motion pictures and TV. The org also will hand out the Nova Awards, to the most promising new producers in movies and TV.

This year also will mark the debut of a new category, called the Vision Awards, presented to the producers “of the most inspirational and/or innovative productions of the year.” And three movies and three TV shows will be inducted into the PGA Hall of Fame.

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Film News from Variety