Adapting noms set

The U. of Southern California announced Tuesday the nominees for the 10th annual Scripter Award, which honors the best realization of a book as a film.

Nominees for the 1997 award are “Donnie Brasco,” a book written by Joseph Pistone and Richard Woodley, which Paul Attanasio adapted as a screenplay; “L.A. Confidential,” James Ellroy, author, and Brian Helgeland and Curtis Hanson, screenwriters; “The Rainmaker,” John Grisham, author, and Francis Ford Coppola, screenwriter; “The Sweet Hereafter,” Russell Banks, author, and Atom Egoyan, screenwriter; and “The Wings of the Dove,” Henry James, author, and Hossein Amini, screenwriter.

USC will announce the winning film on Wednesday, Jan. 7, and its authors and screenwriters will be honored at a dinner on March 7. Veteran comedy writer Hal Kanter will emcee the event.

Director, screenwriter and producer Lawrence Kasdan chaired this year’s selection committee of film and literary professionals.

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Film News from Variety