Independent’s Day

IFP skeds 400 pix for eclectic fest

NEW YORK — Michael Moore (“Roger & Me”), Donna Deitch (“Desert Hearts”), Michel Negroponte (“Jupiter’s Wife”) and Euzhan Palcy (“A Dry White Season”) are among the filmmakers who will screen their latest works at the 1997 Independent Feature Film Market, which will be held Sept. 14-21 at the City Cinemas Angelika Film Center in New York.

This year’s lineup of more than 400 projects encompasses a broad range of ethnic, regional and stylistic viewpoints.

“Not only are there films from over 30 states this year, but we are seeing a marked increase in the number of African-American and Asian-American filmmakers participating,” said Independent Feature Project executive director Michelle Byrd.

The 1997 IFFM program includes 106 features, 66 documentaries, 61 narrative works-in-progress, 55 shorts and 115 scripts. Of the docs, 10 are features, eight are shorts and 48 are works in progress.

Moore will screen his new feature “The Big One,” a docu on the impact of corporate cutbacks that was shot during his recent book tour for “Downsize This! Random Threats from an Unarmed American.”

Deitch will present “Angel on My Shoulder,” a confessional portrait of her best friend’s battle with cancer, while Negroponte will unspool his sci-fi documentary “Underground Robot.” Palcy will explore a famed poet’s personality in “Aime Cesaire: A Voice for History.”

Other noteworthy filmmakers selected for this year’s IFFM include actress-cum-helmer Connie Stevens, who will debut “A Healing — Vietnam 1995 — Dedicated to the Women Who Served,” and Conor McCourt, the nephew of “Angela’s Ashes” author Frank McCourt, who will chronicle his family’s life in Ireland with the short “The McCourts of Limerick.”

Fifteen projects by Asian-Americans will be screened at IFFM, including Joe Chan’s “Not a Day Goes By,” Benson Lee’s “Miss Monday” and Rea Tajiri’s “Strawberry Fields.” Among the works by 50 African-American directors selected for the market are Larry Carty’s “Brotherman in the Motherland,” Vern Anthony Pringle’s “The Second Time Around” and Chriss Williams’ “Asbury Park,” which screened at last year’s IFFM as a work-in-progress.

Ramin Niami’s “Somewhere in the City” boasts the most eclectic cast of any film featured in the IFFM. It stars Sandra Bernhard, Robert John Burke, Ornella Muti, Peter Stormare, Linda Dano, Bulle Ogier and former New York City Mayor Ed Koch.

This year, 85 filmmakers — or 21% — participating in IFFM previously attended the market with other projects or with the same projects at an earlier stage of development.

“Chasing Amy” director Kevin Smith and producer Scott Mosier, who attended the 1993 IFFM with “Clerks,” return to the market this year as producers on Vincent Pereira’s “A Better Place.” The drama of an obsessive high school friendship was produced as part of a deal with Miramax Films to provide funding for ultra-low-budget films.

The list of accepted feature films:

“15 Months in May,” Anja Murmann

“17 & Under,” Gregory W. Morgan

“1999,” Nick Davis

“24-7, The Movie,” Bruce Brown

“4 O’Clock,” Robert Flanagan

“9 Out of 10,” Orson and Ben Cummings

“Advising Michael,” Chris Stearns

“All the Rage,” Roland Tec

“Anima,” Craig Richardson

“Asbury Park,” Chriss Williams

“Back Road Diner,” Winston I. Dunlop II

“Back to One,” Tiffany Yates, Richard LeMay

“Barbecue … A Love Story,” Stacy Kirk

“A Better Place,” Vincent Pereira

“The Blank Page,” Adam Langer

“The Blouse From Bangladesh,” Bob Gliner, David Kahn

“Blue Days Lost,” Jennifer Payson

“Bombshell,” Paul Wynne

“The Broken Giant,” Estep Nagy

“Burying Lana,” Paul S. Bayliss

“Butler, Minnesota,” Jason A. Spafford

“Cafe Donna,” Larry LaVerk

“Cause N Defect,” D. William Wewee, Tom Greenhut

“Changing Gears,” Yenny Nun

“Chesterfield,” David R. Iversen, Catherine L. Constantinou

“Circles,” Adam Kreutner

“Creeps Like Me,” Paul Strilka

“Daughters,” Chris Brown

“The Deal,” Vito Brancato

“Destination Unknown,” Nestor Miranda

“Disoriented,” Francisco Aliwalas

“Dog Years,” Robert Loomis

“Double Blind,” Gregory Storm

“Dying Is Easy,” Deborah Dobski

“East of Hope Street,” Nate Thomas

“The F Zone,” Michael Hansel

“The Fanatics,” Marc Lasky

“Fenced In,” John Carlino

“First and Last,” Bethany Ashton

“FIX,” Richard Zelniker

“Flushed,” Carrie Ansell

“Fool’s Paradise,” Richard Zakka

“Forgive or Forbid,” Marianna Istomina

“Get the Hell Out of Hamtown,” Yasmine Jaffri

“Glass, Necktie,” Paul Bojack

“Grey Areas,” Jason Sklaver

“Guinea Men,” Thomas J. LeGros

“Have Plenty,” Christopher S. Cherot

“Ingrid,” Alexander Tana

“It’s in the Water,” Kelli Herd

“Java Heads … the Movie,” Jon C. Scheide

“Jimmy Crack Corn (and She Don’t Care),” James Rosenow

“Just Work,” Robert Larkin

“Larga Distancia,” Greg Smith

“Last Night at Eddie’s,” Frank Kerr

“Love Bizarre,” Ernest C. Goodly

“Midnight Mambo,” Philip Marino

“A Midwife’s Tale,” Richard P. Rogers

“Mixed Blessings,” Nadine Bass

“Modern Rhapsody,” Elly Friedman, Andrew Alvarez

“My Sweet Suicide,” David Flanagan

“Natural Forces,” Eric Zucker

“Neptune’s Rocking Horse,” Robert Tate, Robert Roznowski

“The New Gods,” James Boyd

“The Nightingale and the Rose,” Alfredo E. Rivas

“The North End,” Frank Ciota

“Ocean Tribe,” Will Geiger

“October Three,” Joseph Brutsman

“Old Man Dogs,” Bill Millios

“One Take,” Daniel A. Wachspress

“Pants on Fire,” Rocky Collins

“Plastic Utopia,” David Zellner

“Postcards From Paradise Park,” Curt Crane

“Pousse Cafe,” Susan Winter

“Purgatory County,” George Ratliff

“Remembering Mario,” Val Franco

“Same River Twice,” Scott Featherstone

“Sand Trap,” Harris Done

“The Scottish Tale,” Mack Polhemus

“The Second Time Around,” VernAnthony Pringle

“El Septimo Cielo,” Juan Fischer

“Shopping for Fangs,” Quentin Lee, Justin Lin

“Sketches,” Constance L. Mortell

“The Slaves of Hollywood,” Terry Keefe, Michael Wechsler

“Smart Money,” Alex Hennech

“Somewhere in the City,” Ramin Niami

“SOULmates,” Duane B. Clark

“Starving Artists,” Allan Piper

“States of Control,” Zack Winestine

“Strawberry Fields,” Rea Tajiri

“Strong Island Boys,” Mark Schiffer

“Sunsets,” Michael Idemoto, Eric Nakamura

“Taxi Dancer,” Sharon Powers

“Tear It Down,” Jeff Boortz

“Too Much Sleep,” David Maquiling

“The Tragedy of Tonsil,” Memo Salazar

“The Truth About Juliet,” Sean McGinly

“Vince and the Trailer Park,” Bob Arons

“Virtue,” Camera Obscura

“Whacking Cows,” Eddie Barbini

“Whatever,” Karl T. Hirsch

“Where the Air is Cool and Dark,” Brion Rockwell

“Without a Map,” Peter Turman

“A Woman Like That,” David E. Talbert

“Yellow,” Chris Chan Lee

“Yerba City,” Michael Gibson

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Film News from Variety