BERLIN – At the ninth annual Felix awards ceremony, which took place on Sunday in Berlin, the European Film Academy honored the achievements of filmmakers from across Europe. The 1996 winners are as follows:

Film: ”Breaking the Waves,” directed by Lars von Trier (Denmark).

Young European film: ”Some Mother’s Son,” directed by Terry George (Ireland).

Actress: British actress Emily Watson, ”Breaking the Waves.”

Actor: British actor Ian McKellen, ”Richard III.”

European Film Academy Lifetime Achievement Award: British actor Sir Alec Guinness.

Prix Arte European documentary award: Stanislaw Krzeminski and Jerzy Sladkowski (Poland).

Screen International Five Continents Award (for the best non-European film): ”Dead Man,” directed by Jim Jarmusch (U.S.).

Screenwriter: Sergei Bodrov, Arif Aliev and Boris Giller for ”Prisoner of the Mountains” (Russia).

Felix of the Critics: ”Breaking the Waves.”

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Scene News from Variety