Golden, Sour Apple noms set

The Hollywood Women’s Press Club is plucking its Golden and Sour Apples to hand out to a slew of celeb nominees alongside a special nod to Shirley MacLaine and Buddy Rogers.

MacLaine, next out in “The Evening Star” on Christmas Day, will get the Louella O. Parsons Award Sunday at the awards show at the Beverly Hilton. Rogers will receive the newly created Hollywood Legend Award.

MacLaine is being honored for her more than 40 years in films. Rogers, who starred in the first Oscar-winning film, “Wings,” is being saluted as the first Hollywood legend.

Nominees for the Golden Apple star of the year include: Rene Russo, Cybil Shepherd, Sharon Stone and the combined “First Wives Club” trio of Goldie Hawn, Diane Keaton and Bette Midler.

Male noms are George Clooney, Gene Hackman, Arnold Schwarzenegger, Sylvester Stallone and Jimmy Smits.

Discovery of the year nominees are Joely Fisher, Terri Hatcher, Gwyneth Paltrow, Charlize Theron and Liv Tyler in the female branch. For the males, Matthew McConaughey, David Duchovney, Matt LeBlanc, Greg Kinnear and Leonardo DiCaprio are the possibilities.

Sour Apple nominations go to pop star Michael Jackson, Chicago Bulls basketball player Dennis Rodman and radio show host Howard Stern.

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Scene News from Variety