The Everly Brothers, Judy Garland, Buddy Holly and Frank Zappa were among the eight recording artists tapped to receive Lifetime Achievement Awards from the National Academy of Recording Arts & Sciences.

Herb Alpert and Jerry Moss were selected, along with Burt Bacharach and Hal David, to receive the org’s Trustees Awards.

Also named to pick up Lifetime Achievement Awards, which honor an artist’s lifelong contributions to the recording medium, were composer/bassist Charlie Mingus, pianist/composer Oscar Peterson, soul/R&B singer Bobby Blue Bland and violinist Stephane Grappelli.

The Trustees Award recognizes outstanding contributions in a non-performing capacity.

Alpert and Moss were saluted for founding A&M Records and Almo Sounds, while Bacharach and David were feted for their songwriting talents.

“These visionary talents have expanded and enriched our culture as well as the recording medium,” said Michael Greene, prexy/CEO of NARAS.

The awards will be officially acknowledged during Grammy week, the week preceding the annual Grammy Awards ceremony, which is set for Feb. 26.

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0