You will be redirected back to your article in seconds

Visitors in the Night

NBC jumps on the sci-fi bandwagon with this thriller, touted as being in the tradition of "Close Encounters of the Third Kind" and "Rosemary's Baby." Instead of "being in the tradition of,""Visitors in the Night" borrows too liberally from those pics -- especially "Close Encounters"-- taking a good idea (an alien case study of a human and her offspring) and rendering it average with unimaginative execution.

Cast:
Cast: Markie Post, Candace Cameron, Stephen McHattie, Dale Midkiff, Pam Hyatt , Melyssa Ade, Susan Hogan, Rob Stefaniuk, Victor A. Young, Judah Katz, Allan Royal, Damir Andrei, Denis Akiyama, Elizabeth Lennie.

NBC jumps on the sci-fi bandwagon with this thriller, touted as being in the tradition of “Close Encounters of the Third Kind” and “Rosemary’s Baby.” Instead of “being in the tradition of,””Visitors in the Night” borrows too liberally from those pics — especially “Close Encounters”– taking a good idea (an alien case study of a human and her offspring) and rendering it average with unimaginative execution.

Judith (Markie Post) is a divorced mom with a handful of a teenager on her hands. Katie (Candace Cameron sporting a bad-girl Tori Spelling hairdo) is a rebellious kid who gets into normal teen trouble in the rural small town.

But then weird, unexplainable events start happening: Horses stampede through the center of town, mysterious power blackouts occur, abstract designs are cut into the wheat fields (as happened in England a few years ago). Katie’s doodles in class match the designs of the field destruction, and she and her friends are blamed.

Meanwhile, a suspicious threesome tails Katie and Judith everywhere, finally forcing a lame confrontation; they aren’t from the government, but from an alien-abduction support group, although they appear to be as silly the alien trackers in “Repo Man.”

Judith, in the meantime, is having nightmares — even in the daytime — about being abducted by aliens.

All of Katie’s nocturnal activity and Judith’s realization, through hypnotherapy, that she has been poked and prodded all her life by the intergalactic travelers has a deleterious effect on family life, until the women come clean about their alien friends.

NBC claims the ending is “shocking,” but it’s more anticlimactic than anything.

Unlike “The X-Files”– which seems to be the new standard-bearer for this genre –“Visitors” cheats on the full-on emotional and intellectual paranoia that drives sci-fi thrillers (essential in “Rosemary’s Baby” and “Close Encounters”).

Script, which runs from making sense to being borderline silly, is never clear in its goal. But Judith and Katie are strong characters, and Post and Cameron give them depth. Cameron digs into the troubled teen role with gusto, and Post delivers a spirited perf.

The special effects, notably the cloud formations around the alien ship and the flooding lights in Judith’s house, are lifted straight from “Close Encounters.”

Alien animatronic effects are top-notch and the production looks great.

Visitors in the Night

(Mon. (27), 9-11 p.m., NBC)

Production: Filmed in Toronto by Pebblehut Prods. in association with Ann Daniel Films. Exec producers, Ann Daniel, Richard L. O'Connor; producer, Marilyn Stonehouse; director, Jorge Montesi; writer, Michael J. Murray.

Crew: Camera, Philip Linzey; editor, Pia Di Ciaula; art director, Andree Brodeur; sound, Valentin Pricop; alien design, Steve Johnson's XFX Inc.; music, Micky Erbe, Maribeth Solomon.

Cast: Cast: Markie Post, Candace Cameron, Stephen McHattie, Dale Midkiff, Pam Hyatt , Melyssa Ade, Susan Hogan, Rob Stefaniuk, Victor A. Young, Judah Katz, Allan Royal, Damir Andrei, Denis Akiyama, Elizabeth Lennie.

More TV

  • Disney-ABC TV Chief on Weinstein's Victims,

    Disney-ABC TV Chief Ben Sherwood on Weinstein's Victims, Shonda Rhimes' Exit

    NBC jumps on the sci-fi bandwagon with this thriller, touted as being in the tradition of “Close Encounters of the Third Kind” and “Rosemary’s Baby.” Instead of “being in the tradition of,””Visitors in the Night” borrows too liberally from those pics — especially “Close Encounters”– taking a good idea (an alien case study of a […]

  • Bill OReilly Roger Ailes Sexual Harrassment

    Bill O'Reilly, Roger Ailes Still Loom Over Fox's Business (Analysis)

    NBC jumps on the sci-fi bandwagon with this thriller, touted as being in the tradition of “Close Encounters of the Third Kind” and “Rosemary’s Baby.” Instead of “being in the tradition of,””Visitors in the Night” borrows too liberally from those pics — especially “Close Encounters”– taking a good idea (an alien case study of a […]

  • RuPaul

    RuPaul Reveals the Queens Competing in 'RuPaul's Drag Race All Stars' Season 3

    NBC jumps on the sci-fi bandwagon with this thriller, touted as being in the tradition of “Close Encounters of the Third Kind” and “Rosemary’s Baby.” Instead of “being in the tradition of,””Visitors in the Night” borrows too liberally from those pics — especially “Close Encounters”– taking a good idea (an alien case study of a […]

  • Donald Trump

    SAG-AFTRA Supports 'Unencumbered Press' After Trump's License Revocation Threat

    NBC jumps on the sci-fi bandwagon with this thriller, touted as being in the tradition of “Close Encounters of the Third Kind” and “Rosemary’s Baby.” Instead of “being in the tradition of,””Visitors in the Night” borrows too liberally from those pics — especially “Close Encounters”– taking a good idea (an alien case study of a […]

  • Brent Briscoe Dead: 'Twin Peaks' and

    Brent Briscoe, 'Twin Peaks' and 'Parks and Recreation' Actor, Dies at 56

    NBC jumps on the sci-fi bandwagon with this thriller, touted as being in the tradition of “Close Encounters of the Third Kind” and “Rosemary’s Baby.” Instead of “being in the tradition of,””Visitors in the Night” borrows too liberally from those pics — especially “Close Encounters”– taking a good idea (an alien case study of a […]

  • 'Magnum P.I.' Reboot in Development at

    'Magnum P.I.' Reboot in Development at CBS From Peter Lenkov With Production Commitment

    NBC jumps on the sci-fi bandwagon with this thriller, touted as being in the tradition of “Close Encounters of the Third Kind” and “Rosemary’s Baby.” Instead of “being in the tradition of,””Visitors in the Night” borrows too liberally from those pics — especially “Close Encounters”– taking a good idea (an alien case study of a […]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content