NATPE Award Recipients Set

Capital Cities/ABC chairman Thomas Murphy, USA Networks chairwoman Kay Koplovitz and the National Geographic Society will be honored at January’s National Assn. of Television Program Executives confab in Las Vegas.

Murphy will receive the organization’s Lifetime Achievement Award on Jan. 23.

Koplovitz will receive the NATPE Chairman’s Award on Jan. 24 – the first woman to get the honor.

USA, formerly known as Madison Square Garden Sports Network, was founded by Koplovitz in 1977. In ‘ 92, the web – jointly owned by Viacom and MCA – established the Sci-Fi Channel and in April ‘ 94 it launched a Latin American cable network.

The National Geographic Society will receive the NATPE Educational Foundation Award on Jan. 25 for its specials.

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More TV News from Variety