M-Net awards open to continent

Eighteen films from eight African countries have been accepted for South African pay-station M-Net’s annual film awards on Oct. 14, which for the first time has been thrown open to the entire continent.

Organizer John Badenhorst said this week the judges have selected 42 nominees for prizes in 11 categories for the event, which coincides with the holding of the second Afro-Arab fair in Johannesburg mid-October.

Leading the nominations in the best film category is Tunisian director Moufida Tlatli’s “Les Silences du Palais,” Egyptian Youssef Chahine’s “The Emigrant” and Tunisian Moncef Dhouib’s “Soltane El Medina.”

The winners in the various categories will be announced at a ceremony in Johannesburg on Oct. 14 to be attended by more than 1,000 guests from across Africa.

Apart from Egypt and Tunisia, films from Ivory Coast, Senegal, Mali, Ghana, Burkina Faso and South Africa also have been entered.

Total prize money for M-Net’s 1995 All Africa Film Awards is 200,000 rand ($55,000).

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Scene News from Variety