For the first time in the six-year history of its annual Golden Laurel Awards for film producing, the Producers Guild of America awards nominees include the same five films cited by the Directors Guild of America in its nominations for film directing.

The winners of the PGA’s Darryl F. Zanuck Award for motion picture producing have gone on to clinch Oscars in four of the past five years.

The 1994 nominees announced Jan. 26 by PGA prexy Leonard B. Stern include producers of 11 TV programs vying for the Norman Felton Award, as well as the five feature films.

PGA noms are as follows:

Feature film: Wendy Finerman, Steve Tisch, Steve Starkey, for “Forrest Gump”; Duncan Kenworthy, “Four Weddings and a Funeral”; Lawrence Bender, “Pulp Fiction”; Robert Redford, Michael Jacobs, Julien Krainin, Michael Nozik, for “Quiz Show”; and Niki Marvin, “The Shawshank Redemption.”

Television: Peter Lasally, Robert Norton, for “David Letterman”; John Wells, Michael Crichton, for “E.R.”; David Angell, Peter Casey, David Lee, Christopher Lloyd, for “Frasier”; Dick Wolf, Ed Sherin, Danny Jacobson, Jeffrey Lane, for “Law and Order”; Danny Jacobson, Jeffrey Lane, for “Mad About You,”; Jonathan Axelrod, Irving Meyer, Harvey Bibicoff, for “Picket Fences”; Ken Burns, Lyn Novick, for “Baseball”; Frank Konigsberg, Larry Sanitsky, for “Oldest Living Confederate Widow Tells All”; Seaton McLean, Tim Reid, for “Race To Freedom; the Underground Railroad”; Ethel Winant, “World War II: When Lions Roared.”

The PGA’s more than 400 members, including theatrical film and television producers, will cast ballots; winners will be announced March 8 at ceremonies at the Regent Beverly Wilshire Hotel. The guild also will present its David O. Selznick Lifetime Achievement Award (motion pictures) and the David Susskind Lifetime Achievement Award (television). The PGA’s Nova Awards for film and TV will go to producers guild members cite as “most promising.”

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0