The American Society of Cinematographers has tapped Martin Scorsese for its 1995 Board of Governors Award. The award, given to non-cinematographers for special achievement, has previously gone to Gregory Peck, Fay Kanin and Steven Spielberg.

At its annual awards banquet Feb. 26, the ASC will honor Scorsese’s efforts in film preservation, noting that the director of “Mean Streets,” “Taxi Driver,” “Raging Bull” and “The Age of Innocence” encouraged Kodak to develop a low-fade color print stock to extend the life of films maintained in libraries. He also co-founded the Film Foundation to promote film restoration.

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0