TV Acad sets student nods

The Academy of Television Arts & Sciences has selected its annual College Television Awards winners, with a total $ 16,100 to be presented at ceremonies in Beverly Hills March 13.

Winners are divided among entertainment and information categories.

First-place winners, of $ 1,000 each, in the entertainment bracket are Tony Lord (AFI), Joshua Yeldham (Rhode Island School of Design) and Mark Marvell (Florida State).

Top honors in the information category — encompassing news and documentary programs — went to Brian Conybeare, Kevin Howatt, George Jerjian, Lisa Low and Hong Zhang (NYU), Lisa L. Bernhard (Regent U.) and Sharon Rennert. A new award in animation went to Brian Dowrick (U. of the Arts, Philadelphia).

Second-place winners, who receive $ 500 each, are, in entertainment, Marc Sedaka (NYU), Martin Curland (USC) and Jonathan Spottiswoode (American U.); in information, Keith Lorens, Dorothy Thurman & Errol Watson (CSU-Dominguez Hills), Wella Lasola & Seth Weinstein (UC Berkeley), and Petra E. Janopaul (Swarthmore College); and Christopher Erin Walsh (Rochester Institute of Technology) for animation.

An additional 26 regional awards, worth $ 200 each, were also selected. ATAS received more than 340 entries from 137 colleges and universities in 37 states.

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More TV News from Variety