Houston sweeps with 7 American Music nods

As expected, pop diva Whitney Houston dominated the 21st annual American Music Awards, scoring seven trophies and a special award thanks to the success of “The Bodyguard” soundtrack, one of the year’s top-selling albums.

Other multiple winners included Dr. Dre, who copped a pair of trophies in the rap/hip hop category; Alan Jackson, who scored two wins for his Arista Records disc “A Lot About Livin’ (And a Little ‘Bout Love)”; and Stone Temple Pilots, who picked up a pair of favorite new artist nods in the heavy metal/hard rock and pop/rock categories.

Toni Braxton won two trophies, as favorite new artist in both the adult contemporary and soul/R&B categories. Alabama continued its tradition of winning as the country band duo or group, scoring its 12th trophy in a row, while Garth Brooks continued his three-year run as favorite male country artist.

While Janet Jackson was shut out of the awards despite her five nominations, Houston added to her total with the AMA Award of Merit, presented by Stevie Wonder “in recognition of her outstanding contributions to the musical entertainment of the American public.”

Surprises included the win by Luther Vandross for favorite male soul/R&B artist, besting Michael Jackson, Bobby Brown and Babyface, while Kenny G was named favorite adult contemporary artist, defeating Michael Bolton and Houston, which prevented an eight-for-eight sweep for the diva.

Tony Bennett presented Rod Stewart with the International Artist Award, an honorary nod that “recognizes those artists whose popularity and impact cross national boundaries and is only given when there is a deserving recipient of outstanding stature and accomplishments.” Michael Jackson was last year’s recipient.

AMA nominations are based on record sales and airplay data compiled by Radio & Records and SoundScan Inc. Winners were selected from a ballot mailed to 20, 000 consumers in a national sampling of record buyers.

The three-hour telecast, hosted by Reba McEntire, Meat Loaf and Will Smith, was broadcast live (delayed on the West Coast) on ABC. It was produced for Dick Clark Prods. by Al Schwartz and Larry Klein. Jeff Margolis directed.

A complete list of winners follows.


Male artist: Eric Clapton

Female artist: Whitney Houston

Band, duo or group: Aerosmith

Single: “I Will Always Love You,” Whitney Houston

Album: “The Bodyguard” soundtrack

New artist: Stone Temple Pilots


Male artist: Luther Vandross

Female artist: Whitney Houston

Band, duo or group: En Vogue

Single:”I Will Always Love You,” Whitney Houston

Album: “The Bodyguard” soundtrack

New artist: Toni Braxton


Male artist: Garth Brooks

Female artist: Reba McEntire

Band, duo or group: Alabama

Single: “Chattahoochee,” Alan Jackson

Album: “A Lot About Livin (And A Little ‘Bout Love),” Alan Jackson

New artist: John Michael Montgomery


Artist: Aerosmith

New artist: Stone Temple Pilots


Artist: Dr. Dre

New artist: Dr. Dre


Artist: Kenny G

Album: “The Bodyguard” soundtrack

New artist: Toni Braxton

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0


    Leave a Reply

    No Comments

    Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

    Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

    WordPress.com Logo

    You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

    Twitter picture

    You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

    Facebook photo

    You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

    Google+ photo

    You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

    Connecting to %s

    More Music News from Variety