Spielberg top helmer, NATO/ShoWest sez

Steven Spielberg will be honored as director of the year at the NATO/ShoWest ’94 final night awards banquet March 10 at Bally’s Hotel and Casino in Las Vegas.

NATO/ShoWest cited the $ 877 million worldwide gross of “Jurassic Park” and the spate of awards for “Schindler’s List” in shaping its decision.

Previous recipients of the NATO/ShoWest award include Warren Beatty, Tim Burton, Mel Brooks, James Cameron, Francis Ford Coppola, Blake Edwards, William Friedkin, Ron Howard, Norman Jewison, Ivan Reitman and Jerry Zucker.

The annual confab of exhibitors and distributors is skedded for March 7-10. Others slated to receive recognition this year include Kirk Douglas, Harrison Ford, Robin Williams, Michelle Pfeiffer and Arnold Kopelson.

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Film News from Variety