Kaplan 4th-term AFTRA prexy

Marvin Kaplan has been reelected to a fourth term as president of the American Federation of Television & Radio Artists, nabbing 55% of the vote, compared to 38.5% for Susan Boyd.

Also elected were incumbent first vice prez Frances Reid, incumbent second VP Les Tremayne, third veep Fred Holliday (incumbent Donna Davidson did not seek reelection) and Millie Wright as fourth VP.

Jay Gerber had previously held the fourth VP post, but sought a first veepee post this year and lost.

Sumi Haru, incumbent recording secretary, was also reelected.

These are all two-year terms.

On the local board of directors, all incumbents except Joe Ruskin were re-elected. They include: K.T. Stevens, Peggy McCay, Haru, Frank Maxwell, Wright , Fred Holliday, Yale Summers, Peter Leeds and Victor Contreras. Ivy Bethune was elected and will take Ruskin’s seat.

The board members serve three-year terms.

Ruskin, ironically, now serves as first VP of the Screen Actors Guild.

Dean Webber was elected announcer.

Those elected to the national board were: Stevens, Tremayne, Jacqui Lynn Colton, Haru, Arthur Wachtel, Bill Zuckert, Edie Lehmann and Gayle Palitz.

Filed Under:

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More TV News from Variety