CBS tops DGA TV nominee finalists

CBS leads the webs with 13 finalists for Directors Guild of America television award nominations. NBC is second with 10, while ABC has three.

Nominations will be announced Monday.

The finalists in dramatic specials: Karen Arthur, “The Jacksons — An American Dream,” ABC; Martha Coolidge, “Crazy in Love,” TNT; Ron J. Lagomarsino, “Picket Fences,” CBS; Frank Pierson, “Citizen Cohn,” HBO; Joseph Sargent, “Miss Rose White,” NBC; and James Sadwith, “Sinatra,” CBS.

Musical/variety: Hal Gurney, “Late Night With David Letterman,” NBC; Jess Margolis, “64th Annual Academy Awards,” ABC; Terri L. McCoy, “In Living Color,” Fox; Walter C. Miller, “1992 Tony Awards,” CBS; and Bobby Quinn, “The Tonight Show,” NBC.

Comedy: Jason Alexander, “The Good Samaritan” episode of “Seinfeld,” NBC; Peter Bonerz, “You Say Potatoe, I Say Potato” episode of “Murphy Brown,” CBS; James Burrows, “An Old-Fashioned Wedding” episode of “Cheers,” NBC; Tom Cherones , “The Contest” episode of “Seinfeld,” NBC; Lee Shallat, “Send in the Clowns” episode of “Murphy Brown,” CBS; and Sam Weisman, “The Last Immigrant” episode of “Brooklyn Bridge,” CBS.

Dramatic series, nighttime: Allan Arkush, “Desperate Measures — The Abortion” episode of “I’ll Fly Away,” NBC; Charles Braverman, “Heroes” episode of “Northern Exposure,” CBS; Roy Campanella II, “The Way Things Are” episode of “I’ll Fly Away,” NBC; Michael Fresco, “Thanksgiving” episode of “Northern Exposure,” CBS; Peter Lauritson, “The Inner Light” episode of “Star Trek: The Next Generation,” Paramount; and Rob Thompson, “Cicely” episode of “Northern Exposure,” CBS.

Daytime serials: Bruce S. Barry, “Guiding Light,” CBS; Noel Black & Harry Eggart, “One Life to Live,” ABC; Michael Denny, “The Young and the Restless,” CBS; Kenn R. Herman, “Days of Our Lives,” NBC; Frank Pacelli, “The Young and the Restless,” CBS; Michael Stich, “The Bold and the Beautiful,” CBS; Susan C. Strickler, “Another World,” NBC.

The winners will be announced at the 45th annual DGA Awards banquet March 6 at the Beverly Hilton Hotel.

Also that day, the guild will host its second annual feature film nominees symposium from 10 a.m. to 1 p.m. at the Directors Guild. Feature nominees Robert Altman, Clint Eastwood, James Ivory, Neil Jordan and Rob Reiner will discuss their approach to directing with 600 DGA members and their guests.

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More TV News from Variety